The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is in charge of issuing all handicapped placards in the State of Florida. The first step to obtain a disabled person parking placard is through your local county tax collector’s office or DMV. The DHSMV offers both temporary and permanent placards depending on what your doctor fills out as your condition and need for the placard.
Who Qualifies for a Handicapped Placard in Florida?
Any disabled individual who can obtain proof of their condition and need for a placard from a medical doctor is eligible to meet application requirements. In addition, any organization that transports individuals with disabilities may obtain a placard.
The First Step to Obtain a Handicapped Placard
Before you go to the DMV and take a number, you must first visit your doctor to get a written recommendation for why you require a handicapped placard. You and your doctor will need to complete this Application Form for Disabled Person Parking. This report must be filled out within the last 12 months to be eligible. The following medical professionals are eligible to fill out the form:
- Your general physician
- Optometrist—for visual disabilities only
- Physician’s assistant
- Nurse practitioner
With your filled-out form in hand, visit your local county tax collector’s office to turn in your application and obtain a handicapped placard.
What Does it Cost?
There is a fee to obtain a temporary handicapped placard, that fee is $15. A permanent placard is free to obtain.
Permanent vs. Temporary Placards
A ‘permanent’ handicapped placard may lead you to believe it’s good for a lifetime, but that’s not the case. Instead, a permanent placard is good for up to 4 years. A temporary placard is only good for up to six months.
To receive more than one placards you must travel often, be a quadriplegic, or operate an organization for handicapped people and have multiple vehicles.
Wheelchair License Plate
At the time you apply for your handicapped placard, you may request a Florida wheelchair license plate. This plate must be renewed just like any normal plate along with vehicle registration. To receive disabled plates, you must hand over your existing plates.
Following the Rules of Handicapped Placards
- Only the person issued the placard is eligible to use it, otherwise a ticket and hefty fine is applied if you are caught.
- The placard must be hung from your vehicle’s rearview mirror so that the decal and expiration date are in plain sight outside of the vehicle.
- Keep your placard registration with you at all times. You may be asked to show it.
- Park in spaces marked for handicapped placards. You are not permitted to park in emergency vehicle or bus zones, striped areas beside disabled spaces, or any spot that is labeled “no parking”. There may also be designated time periods you are allowed to park in a handicapped spot, these time regulations must be adhered to.
Stellar Trusted Non-Emergency Medical Transportation
As a non-emergency medical transportation company, we know a thing or two about handicapped placards, such as how very helpful they are to individuals who need them. Speaking of helpful services, we offer reliable local and long-distance transportation you can count on. Contact us today to learn more.